Rape conviction: true or false

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello, my dear little scandal story lovers! Before we start our journey, let me warn you: it’s not gonna be a usual post! Today my professor gave me a chance to feel myself being a real backpack reporter with a harsh deadline and couple of not-easy-to-fight tasks to accomplish.

The original story taken from news depicts a sexual scandal occurred recently: a man called William Craig (claiming to be gay for his whole life) has been cleared from attempting to rape a woman on the street though she is still blaming him about this abuse.

Here in this article I’m trying to kind of localize the event, interviewing random students around Skapto to unleash their position on this case. During my research I’ve taken soundbites (provided below) from Jessica and Bogdana, Erasmus girls currently studying in AUBG.

My questions were pretty simple and straight- forward: “On which side are you?”; “Do you think it was a real rape attempt or just a huge misunderstanding?” and “Do you believe that similar case could happen here at AUBG?”

Apparently, both girls have pretty much the same opinion about the side they choose. Jessica says:

I do believe that the guy is actually innocent. But in my own opinion the judges should have spent more time on getting into the deal and investigating, even if the truth seems to be pretty obvious. Rape is a really serious crime every women could face during her life, and no one guarantees you’re safe though, even while being here on Campus. AUBG seems to be a very safe place populated by extremely nice people, and I do not think anything like that could happen around here, but still […] it’s really important to take care of yourself.

Frankly, no one can imagine raping cases at AUBG, where all the people are well- educated and influential, but, according to the girls being interviewed, if the crime would actually happen, they would take words of supposed victim more serious. However, during her speech, Bogdana claims that in the case given, so called “victim” seems not to be trustworthy:

I think, she’s just trying to grab some attention in the media and get some financial compensation from the guy who was “threatening” here. There’s totally no evidences of his fault besides the words of the woman, and knowing that the “rapist” is a respected member of gay community for years, the situation appears to be pretty absurd. […] As for me, judges did a right decision over there. However, I don’t respect making the outcomes that quick especially in the criminal cases such as murder or rape… […] They should have investigated more.

Leave your opinion about the topic raised below!

Stay in touch and see you next time!

Leave a comment